Barbecued Chicken with Creamy Corn Casserole and Baked Beans

Today it was back to work…Monday.

I certainly didn’t want to go. It had been a lazy weekend, except for having friends over Friday night. Man, the FOOD was delicious and spending time with FRIENDS I hadn’t seen in over a month was great too. (I’ll have to share the Creamy Bay Scallop Spaghetti recipe with you another day). Saturday, I was lazy, hanging around doing nothing all day…healthy for a change, not like the 10 day head-cold right after Christmas where I lay around sick as a dog!

This weekend I also started this blog. What an amazing response from so many people…and there are even some followers! Thank you to all you who are encouraging me. Sunday was a day of worship, celebrating my FAITH in the Lord with our church FAMILY and coming home to the London Broil dinner afterwards. Like I said, I didn’t want to go back. I enjoyed my weekend way too much!

IMAG1108

So now that I’m sharing my recipes, a friend who’s been reading my blog asked me to make corn casserole as I made it once at their house and her husband absolutely loved it. I asked, what to add as the main dish, she said, “barbecue chicken.” Okay, I was drooling as it sounded so much better than the chili dogs I was planning for Monday.

So, after work, I headed straight to the store and bought the ingredients. So, Pam, this is for you. By the way, I’m bringing the leftover corn casserole to work for you guys to finish off tomorrow. It’s way too much for just Joe and I.

IMAG1106

IMAG1105

The chicken was nothing more than pan frying it on the stove until the skin was lightly browned , then baked in the oven with bottled barbecue sauce over it. The beans are canned beans (which were a different brand than my usual one. Once I opened the can and tasted it, I wasn’t too pleased, so I added a little of the barbecue sauce to it and dressed it up a little). Remember I said it was Monday? I’m not cooking everything from scratch after a long day at work! The corn casserole redeemed me from this prepackaged meal.

Now, here it is…

Creamy Corn Casserole

Ingredients

1 can creamed corn

1 can corn, drained

1 8oz container sour cream

1/4 stick butter, melted

1 egg

1 box Jiffy cornbread mix

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Usually I make this in a casserole dish, but this time, I put it in the cast iron skillet. I LOVE the crunchy crust it created and highly recommend the cast iron skillet. It was creamy and fluffy on the inside, crispy on the outside.

IMAG1107

I also tried making it as a “one dish” recipe. I sprayed the pan with non-stick spray, then mixed all the ingredients in the pan and stuck it in the oven. No mixing dishes to wash!

Set the timer for 40 minutes and walk away. When the timer went off, dinner was done!

IMAG1104

All I needed now was a tall glass of icy, cold sweet tea to go with it! Momo Jessie would be proud!

(In the picture to the right, notice the little cast iron skillet for the beans was a bit full, so I covered the outside with foil so it wouldn’t drip in the oven).

Leave a Reply

